Comic Creators Anonymous – Kev Brett

Writer/artist Kev Brett has a penchant for creating all-ages comics and his comic involvement doesn’t end there with him having a hand in running the EXCELLENT Nottingham Comic Con.

What was the first title you worked on?

My very first “proper” foray into the world of comics was a little web comic called The Monkey and the Mouse. It followed the adventures of my two kids (aged 5 and 1 when it started) and what they got up to, day in day out – with some artistic licence. It lasted for just over 200 strips.

This then led me to do a long form story driven comic about the same two characters called Where’s the Cheese? which took them to the moon looking for, well, cheese, but they got more than they bargained for.

How has your work changed since then?

Hopefully it’s technically a lot better! My focus has always really been the all ages/kids audience and that hasn’t really changed, but I do try to do more story driven comics now (he says as he starts a new web comic short form strip series).

Who are your main influences?

Growning up I always read the Beano, Dandy, Asterix and Tintin, so they are deeply embedded in what I try to do. More recent influences have been the likes of Jamie Smart, The Etherington Brothers, Otis Frampton, Drew Pocza and Eric Merced. I absolutely LOVE Scottie Young’s work as well. His use of ink is just amazing, a very rough kinda feel.

What comics are you reading just now?

I recently finished Chunks by Matt Garvey as well as Chew, the Hickman FF series and I’ve just completed The Manhattan Projects (so nothing all ages or kid friendly…!).

What’s the best thing about creating comics?

I really enjoy creating characters and stories, but I love the sketching stage of the process. I think the best bit, though, has to be finally getting to hold my book in my hands and seeing the faces of my kids as they read it. That’s the main reason I started in the first place!

What are you working on just now?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I currently have a few bits and bobs in the pipeline. I’ve just started a new web strip, Our Big Un, which follows the adventures of a lead singer and his band mates. I’m also working on a 3 page comic written by Mr Tony Esmond that we’re doing for the Nottingham Comic Con charity comic. I’m also working on 2 long form story comics, but they are in the early stages…PLUS I’m doing colour assists on a graphic novel by Michael Regina called Adamsville Book 3 as well as working on bunch of strips written by my wife Kel Brett called the Carrot and the Pea.

My wife and I also run Nottingham Comic Con which is happening this year on 14th October. We’re in our 5th year and things are starting to pick up for that. It’s a little hectic, but excited for all the projects!

Where can we see you next?

I’ll be at ICE Birmingham on 9th September as well as at Nottingham Comic Con on 14th October. I’m looking into doing more cons, but finding the time is always an interesting challenge.


You can catch-up on more of Kev’s work on his website and keep up to date with his latest projects over on FacebookTwitter & Instagram.

G-Man

Leave a Reply

