Comic Creators Anonymous – Mark Penman

Mark Penman (M D Penman) is a UK-based freelance illustrator & comic book writer/artist who is the creator of the impressive Eimurian Tales web-comic.

What was the first title you worked on?

My first “proper” title would be Peabody & D’Gorath. This was a series that I pitched for DC’s Zuda competition a good few years ago. Unfortunately I didn’t win but it got me some interest and I ended up taking the premise to SLG Publishing. It had a short run there before I started seeking out other people to work with.

Prior to that I used to take part in comic challenges at EnterVoid.com which was where I kind of cut my teeth and honed my comic craft.

How has your work changed since then?

Well I’d like to think it’s become a bit more refined, though there are times I look at my old work and go “Man what the Hell was I thinking? This is awesome” I think the writing has evolved quite a bit, I’ve got a clearer idea of how I want to write my characters, less exposition and more inference from their actions!

Who are your main influences?

Stylistically it changes every few years. Constants are Mike Mignola, Becky Cloonan, Kentaro Miura, Hiroaki Samura and Naoki Urasawa. Currently I’m really digging on the work of Matt Smith who created Barbarian Lord and Andrew MacLean.

For writing I I more look towards novels so I’ve been heavily influenced by Joe Abercrombie, Patrick Rothfuss and George RR Martin. I’m a big fan of character led fantasy which is something I want to reflect in my own work, characters first, world second.

What comics are you reading just now?

Headlopper by Andrew MacLean, Godshaper by Si Spurrier and Jonas Goonface, Nameless City vol 2 by Faith Erin Hicks and a few manga- Berserk, Vinland Saga, My Hero Academia, One Piece, One Punch Man and Attack on Titan.

What’s the best thing about creating comics?

Finishing them……in all seriousness though completing a comic is an amazing feeling. You get to see all the hard work, sweat and toil as an object in your hands. Seeing people buzz off of your work is an amazing feeling too.

Other than finishing them seeing a story you came up with come to life.

What are you working on just now?

I am currently working on the second story in my web series, Eimurian Tales, which is called The Shattered.

Where can we see you next?

I have a few conventions/ appearances this year:

Thought Bubble, Leeds (23-24/08/17)

Nottingham Comic Con (14/09/17)


You can catch-up with Mark over on his website, Facebook, Tumblr & Twitter now and you can check out his Eimurian Tales web-comic on the titles website too.

G-Man

 

Leave a Reply

