Comic Creators Anonymous – Sha Nazir

I think I’ve known Sha Nazir from the very early days of Comics Anonymous and his work with Black Hearted Press and events around the country have shown that his passion for making comics stretches into other areas too. So time for a Q&A.

What was the first title you worked on?

I got started working on my own self published version of Laptop Guy, it was a Black & White anthology, mostly written and drawn by me, I guess I was testing the water, totally green.

How has your work changed since then?

My story telling has developed, I don’t get to actually make as many comics as I’d like to, but I’ve gone from drawing on scraps of paper and making the comic fit in Photoshop, to purely working on a Cintique and working more closely with my writing partners.

Who are your main influences?

There’s a whole host of artists and story tellers, Rembrandt, Picasso and Tamara de Lempicka in fine art, to comic creators like David Boswell (Reid Felming), Jim Starlin (Infinity War), Evan Dorkin (Milk & Cheese), Richard Sala (The Chuckling Whatsit) and Jack Kirby (everything)

What comics are you reading just now?

At the moment I’m reading ‘Jimmy Corrigan, smartest kid on earth‘, ‘Infinity‘ and ‘Space Captain 4

What’s the best thing about creating comics?

The pure satisfaction of making a thing, a book, a piece of evidence that you were here on this planet and just seeing it come together and be a thing, after sooo much time and effort… followed by crushing disappoint when folk just dismiss your knew book as they swan past your con table 😀

What are you working on just now?

Four Things, my own comic project I’m writing (tba), drawing a new book with Jack Lothian (tba), working with Frank Quitely on his next book with us ‘Frank Quitely – Drawings + Sketches’ (release date late Sep 2017) and another ongoing project with Warren Pleece TBA at Glasgow Comic Con.

Where can we see you next?

We’ll be at Clydebank Comics Day this weekend (June 18) and Glasgow Comic Con (July 1).


You can check out more of Sha’s work over on his website. You can see what else Black Hearted Press have to offer on their website and keep updated with what’s next from them over on the Facebook & Twitter pages.

G-Man

Leave a Reply

