Comic Creators Anonymous – Andi Ewington

I first caught up with some of Andi Ewington’s work in Overrun and since then I’ve seen his titles pop-up again and again in more mainstream titles.

What was the first title you worked on?

My debut graphic novel was called ‘Forty-Five’ which was published by Com.x. ‘Forty-Five’ broke new grounds by combining 45 different pieces of artwork from new and established comic professionals such as Charlie Adlard, Liam Sharp, Fiona Staples, Sean Phillips and Ben Oliver with 45 superhero transcripts I had written.

How has your work changed since then?

I’m more confident and comfortable with my abilities. In those early days I would rely on my publisher more, these days I have that experience and strength to make those right decisions for myself.

Who are your main influences?

I look to my peers, creators such as Rob Williams and Andy Diggle push me to be a better writer.

What comics are you reading just now?

I’m currently enjoying re-reading the Dredd case files at the moment.

What’s the best thing about creating comics?

Seeing a story idea you have, brought to life.

What are you working on just now?

Emailing publishers for two pitches while coordinating production checks on Freeway Fighter Issue #3 and Red Dog Issue #6. I’m hoping to get back on the writing trail soon.

Where can we see you next?

I’m aiming to attend the London Film & Comic Con (28th – 30th July) and the Fighting Fantasy Fest (2nd Sept).


You can catch-up on Andi’s Overrun over on the titles website and you can check out what else he is up to over on Twitter & Instagram.

G-Man

Leave a Reply

